Antonio Ramirez Fernandez

Project 3

contact: antonio.ramirez-fernandez@lrz.uni-muenchen.de

 

Host institution: University Ludwig Maximilians

 

Project Supervisor: Prof Annette Nicke

 

Biography

My name is Antonio Ramírez Fernández (September, 1993). I was born and raised in Málaga (Spain) as the youngest of two. There, I took my primary, secondary and pre-university level studies and I became interested in Life Sciences during the last couple of years. Thus, I decided to move to Granada in order to take my BSc degree in Biochemistry. During these four years, Health Sciences attracted my attention and I got a mention in Molecular Biomedicine. After a research internship carried out at Vircell S. L., I considered taking up a career in the industry as an interesting path and I took my MSc in Molecular Biology Applied to the Biotechnology Companies at the University of Granada, for whose thesis I had the honor of developing a project within the Sonia Lain group at Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm (Sweden) in the fields of cancer research and drug discovery.

After I got my MSc degree, I started looking for PhD positions related to Human Health, and I worked for ten months at the University of Granada as a technical support scientist in chromatography techniques coupled to mass spectrometry.

I am currently enrolled as a PhD candidate in the research group of Prof Dr Annette Nicke at the Walther-Straub Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) in Munich (Germany), where I am working on the Identification of novel disease-specific P2X7R down-stream targets in schizophrenia and epilepsy.

 

Why are you doing a PhD?

I am doing a PhD because I wanted to develop my own research project, to keep learning new things every day and to be able to make contributions to scientific knowledge. This is a great way to take a step further in my career as a researcher, I have the possibility to achieve a challenging goal and I can get in touch with other researchers in my situation, which will help me to improve as a scientist.

 

Other interests?

I have always enjoyed travelling, getting to know new places and cultures either with my family or my girlfriend. I love music. I took musical studies and played the saxophone at the conservatory for 9 years until I started my university degree. I also attended piano lessons and I even tried to learn to play the guitar on my own. I like sports too, whether practising or watching them on TV. My favourite one is football but I also like basketball and tennis.